The Wiener Musikverein




The Wiener Musikverein, commonly shortened to Musikverein, is a concert hall in the Innere Stadt borough of Vienna, Austria. It is the home to the Vienna Philharmonic orchestra.

The "Great Hall" (Großer Saal) due to its highly regarded acoustics is considered one of the finest concert halls in the world, along with Berlin's Konzerthaus, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Boston's Symphony Hall. None of these halls were built in the modern era with the application of acoustics science and all share a long, tall, and narrow shoebox shape.

The building of Concert Halls was designed by the Ringstrasse architect Thophil van Hansen for the Society of Music Lover - Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde which was founded in 1812. The "Golden Hall" is famous with its excellent acoustics. Countless premiers by Vienna Philarmonic Orchestra and world wide known masters has taken place in the Golden Hall of Musikvereingebäude. Annually the New Year's Concert is broadcasted from the Golden Hall to all around the world by satellite transmission. The Skandalkonzert of 1913 was given there, and it is the venue for the annual Vienna New Year's Concert. Its lively acoustics are primarily based on Hansen's intuition as he could not rely on any studies on architectural acoustics.



Vienna Concert Hall

 

   



According to plans of Ludwig Baumann, Ferdinand Fellner and Hermann Gottlieb Helmer, construction work of the Vienna Concert Hall started in December 1911. The Vienna Concert Hall was officially opened on October 19th in 1913 in the presence of Emperor Franz Joseph I. Richard Strauss, a famous Austrian composer, has composed “Festliches Präludium op. 61” for the festive opening concert. Since the beginning Vienne Concert Hall has been home to various musical trends and developments. In the early years it hosted lots of premiers, jazz and popular concerts as well as readings, lectures, dance events, symposia and many other events. 

After World War II Vienna Concert Hall became a leading figure in reviving the musical live and in organizing concert events in Vienna. The unique atmosphere of Vienna Concert Hall attracts artists and spectators from all around the world. It belongs to the cultural heart of the city and serves as one of the most outstanding concert stages in Austria and Europe.

 

 

MuTh - Concert Hall of Vienna Boys' Choir



  



Vienna‘s new venue for music and theatre – the Vienna Boys’ Choir Concert Hall in the Augarten – opened in December 2012! An exciting new venue has sprung up in the heart of Vienna, a place with a focus on young people where music and theatre meet. 

The new stage is equipped to the highest standards, and the auditorium has seating for 400 people. The stage has an optimally designed orchestra pit and the finest acoustic in the city. Here in this new hotspot for music and theatre you can experience the Vienna Boys’ Choir performing live, rock and jazz concerts, drama, and many more cultural events. 

The building is a unique ensemble of existing baroque structures (the gatehouse and wall) and modern architecture. At the heart of MuTh is the new Concert Hall. Contrasting with the coolness of the glass and metal used in the exterior of the new construction, warm materials and strong colours are used in the Hall. The magnificent ambient sound – enriched through the use of acoustic panels and special seating – is particularly noteworthy. A café, shop and a seminar room complete the overall MuTh experience.



Vienna International Center



  



According to plans of the Austrian architect Johann Staber Vienna International Center was erected in the 22nd district of Vienna from 1973 till 1979. Since then it serves as headquarters of the United Nations Office at Vienna and of some other international organizations. At the Rotunda visitors can see the row of more than 190 flags which represent the different member states of the UN. In regularly changing exhibitions visitors get informed about the activities and work of the United Nations. 

Every summer the UN invites the choirs participating in the World Peace Choral Festival to perform an open air concert in the Rotunda. Afterwards all choirs receive certificates from the UN which confirm the choirs’ and choristers’ contribution to world peace. After his performance each choir gets a short guided tour through the Vienna International Center. The World Peace Choral Festival is the only choral festival worldwide that is invited to perform at a UN headquarters. 

 

 

Palais Augartenn of Vienna Boys' Choir



 



Palais Augarten is a baroque palace located in the Augarten Park in Vienna’s second district. The park originally was an imperial hunting ground which was opened to the public by Emperor Franz II in the year of 1775. Erected according to the plans of Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach in the late seventeenth century, Palais Augarten was inhabited by members of the imperial family till the early 20th Century.

 From 1934 to 1936 Palais Augarten was inhabited by the Austrian Chancellor Kurt Schuschnigg. The renowned Austrian architect Fischer von Erlach also designed the Karlskirche, the Winter Riding School and the former royal stables which now are known as the Museumsquartier. During World War II the building suffered from heavy damages but was completely restored afterwards. 

Since 1948 Palais Augarten serves as headquarters of Vienna Boys’ Choir. Today the palace which also houses the Vienna Porcelain Manufactory, as well as the park is in the possession of the Republic of Austria. Palais Augarten serves as venue for the World Peace Choral Festival’s workshops and master classes which are conducted by music professors of the Vienna Boys’ Choir.


 

St. Stephen's Cathedral, Vienna





St. Stephen's Cathedral (more commonly known by its German title Stephansdom) is the mother church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Vienna and the seat of the Archbishop of Vienna, Christoph Cardinal Schönborn, OP. The current Romanesque and Gothic form of the cathedral, seen today in the Stephansplatz, was largely initiated by Duke Rudolf IV (1339–1365) and stands on the ruins of two earlier churches, the first a parish church consecrated in 1147. 

The most important religious building in Vienna, St. Stephen's Cathedral has borne witness to many important events in Habsburg and Austrian history and has, with its multi-coloured tile roof, become one of the city's most recognizable symbols.The funeral of the Italian composer, Antonio Vivaldi occurred in this cathedral in 1741.

 

  

St. Peter’s Church



   



St Peter’s looks back on a very long and rich history. According to a popular legend St Peter’s was established by Charlemagne, though there is no convincing evidence of this. The first building was probably erected in the second half of the 4th Century out of a reconstructed military barrack of the Roman camp Vindobona. After various phases of rebuilding the half-ruined church was finally demolished in the early 18th century.

On the initiative of Emperor Leopold I. St. Peter’s was newly rebuilt according to plans of the Italian architect Gabriele Montani and the renowned Austrian architect Lukas von Hildebrandt. Dedicated to the Holy Trinity and to St. Peter the church was opened in 1733. St. Peter’s Church regularly organizes musical events, such as spiritual choir and organ concerts with artists from all around the world. St. Peter’s is known as Vienna’s most beautiful baroque church.  

 

Minorites Church



 


The Minoritenkirche (English: Minorites Church, related to the monastic order of the "Minor" orFranciscan monks), formally called Italienische Nationalkirche Maria Schnee (English: Italian National Church of Mary of the Snows), is a church built in French Gothic style in the Altstadt orFirst District of Vienna, Austria. The site on which the church is built was given to followers of Francis of Assisi in 1224. The foundation stone was laid by Premysl Ottokar II in 1276. Duke Albrecht II later supported the building process, especially the main portal. The Gothic Ludwig choir was built between 1316 and 1328, and used as a mausoleum in the 14th and 15th centuries. 

Construction of the church was completed in 1350. The top of its belltower was damaged during the first Austro-Turkish war, rebuilt, then again destroyed again during the second Austro-Turkish war; the top was then replaced by a flat roof. When Joseph II gave the church to the Italians as a present, they transferred the name Maria Schnee("Mary of the Snows") from a nearby chapel which was subsequently destroyed.


 

Carmelite Church


 



The Karmeliterkirche or Carmelite Church of Vienna can be found at the second district of Vienna. The original Carmelite Church was destroyed by the Ottoman troops in the course of the Second Siege of Vienna. 

Today, the Carmelites have left for a safer haven within Vienna and the Karmeliterkirche has become a parish church. In recent years, many Jews from Eastern Europe have moved to Vienna and re-populated the former Jewish quarter. Once again the area has gained several Kosher shops and restaurants as well as other Jewish facilities.

In addition to Orthodox Jewish residents, the second district in general and the area around the Carmelite Church in particular has become popular with students and bobos (Bohemian bourgeoisie, essentially yuppies that understate). This gave rise to a funny mix and a colourful combination of people. Getting to the Karmeliterkirche is easy: Just cross the Donaukanal at the Uniqa tower and follow the gradient of kids with flat hats on the back of their heads.


  Schubert Church




Franz Schubert’s early life was intimately tied up with both the church and the surrounding parish.

The first thing inside the church is a non-descript wall of glass that feels like a disappointment, until you go through its doors and are transported into 18th century Vienna.

Giant stone arches with illusionist paintings create the impression of detail and grandeur. The roof is covered in frescoes illustrating biblical scenes and themes, while the walls feature a series of paintings depicting fourteen stations of the cross. Old wooden pews lead down to the altar and the huge painting of the fourteen holy helpers.

Looking back from the altar you can see the magnificent organ. Although it was refurbished and rebuilt, it still retains some original parts from Schubert’s days. It’s not hard to imagine a bespectacled young lad reveling in a new composition, or simply directing singers and musicians in this beautiful setting.Various religious pieces from the hand of Schubert premiered here, including his early Mass compositions. His works are still performed at public concerts in the church.







The World Peace Choral Festival
Copyright © 2015 All rights reserved.